My review will follow the publisher’s blurb :

Travel through the lush English countryside and explore the magnificent estates of the British aristocracy in this next spellbinding love story in The Seven Sisters series by #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley.

Star D’Aplièse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father—the elusive billionaire, affectionately called Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted from across the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to her true heritage, and Star nervously decides to follow hers, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a whole new world.

A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy and secure in her home in England’s picturesque Lake District—just a stone’s throw away from the residence of her childhood idol, Beatrix Potter—when machinations lead her to London, and the home of one of Edwardian society’s most notorious society hostesses, Alice Keppel. Flora is torn between passionate love and her duty to her family, but finds herself a pawn in a larger game. That is, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman unveils the answers that Flora has been searching for her whole life…

As Star learns more of Flora’s incredible journey, she too goes on a voyage of discovery, finally stepping out of the shadow of her sister and opening herself up to the possibility of love.

The Shadow Sister is the third in the sweeping Seven Sisters series, “soaked in glamour and romance” (Daily Mail) and perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and the novels of Kate Morton.


Important note : overuse of the word LOVE in this review.

At 512 pages, The Shadow Sister was an intimidating read for me. You see, I’m more of 300-350 page book reader, nevertheless I gobbled up all 512 pages in no time !! I loved it so much.

Being my first Lucinda Riley book, (and book 3 in the series) I didn’t know what to expect. Stepping into this book basically blindfolded, I was unsure if I’d find myself fully immersed. Boy, was I wrong ! This is a novel that kept me from chores, from making myself lunch, I may have even been late for an appointment as well !! You absolutely don’t need to read the two previous novels to get lost in The Shadow Sister.

Beautiful goings on and things I loved :

I love that Lucinda Riley takes us back a hundred years, to the steps of Alice Keppler, one of Edwardian’s high society hostesses. Alice Keppler was a real person. Not in the book but an interesting bit of information is that : Alice Keppel is the great-grandmother of Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall. After you read the book, you’ll be like. OH!! I mean it is not an essential bit of information, just a little interesting nugget.

I’m getting away from myself here. The real story is with Flora MacNichol and Star. How their lives mysteriously intertwine.  Mouse was a most interesting character as well, I think he may have been my favorite. Exceptionally eccentric and more importantly he owned a book store ! It never fails, if there is a bookstore in a book, I’m bound to fall in love with it.

I love how Lucinda brings us to the end. It wasn’t the ending I expected though. There were definite clues now that I think about it but the story was so engrossing that I got swept up in it all. I loved the secrets hidden within the pages of The Shadow Sister. I loved how Star is coming into her own, on her own terms.

Basically there is nothing negative I have to say about this novel. Ok, well… maybe that it had to come to an end. I do have something to look forward to : Book 4 !

Even though it was “pagier” (ya, that’s my invented word for the day) I absolutely would have taken on more. From the characters to the settings to the secrets and intrigue… yes, I loved it all !!  Luckily mother’s day is fast approaching and I’ll treat myself to book one and two in the Seven Sisters book series.

Published by Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster
512 pages
ISBN 9781476759944
Available now

A galley of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *